Satellite View Search Donate Contact Us النسخة العربية
Home Pictures Maps Oral History Zionist FAQ Zionist Quotes The Conflict 101 R.O.R. 101 Site Members About Us
Geographical Distribution of the Population in Palestine. British Mandate: A Survey of Palestine: Volume I - Page 145. Chapter VI: Population: B.
Post Your Comment  (1 comment


Return To Survey of Palestine
כדילתרגם לעברית
Posted on October 28, 2007
Previous Page   Next Page
Click to enlarge
Previous Page

British Mandate: A Survey of Palestine
Click here to purchase a copy of this book.

Next Page

The above documents, article, interviews, movies, podcasts, or stories reflects solely the research and opinions of its authors. makes its best effort to validate its contents.

Return To Survey of Palestine

Post Your Comment

Posted by Webmaster on May 31, 2013 #150303


B. The geographical distribution of the population.

10. Palestine falls into the seven natural geographical divisions which are described in paragraph 2 of chapter ill. Briefly, these seven divisions are :-

(1) The maritime plain.

(2) The coastal plain of Acre.

(3) The plains of Esdraelou and Jezreel.

(4) The central range, comprising the hills of Judaeu and


(5) The hills of Galilee.

(6) The valley of the Jordan. (7) The Negeb.

Unfortunately, data on population are not cow piled by natural zones, but by administrative sub-divisions. There are at present sixteen administrative sub-districts grouped in six districts as follows:

Gaza district, comprising the Gaza and Beersheba sub-districts; Lydda district, comprising the Jaffa and Ramie sub-districts; Jerusalem district, comprising the Hebron, Jerusalem and

Ramallah sub-districts:

Samaria district, comprising the Tulkarm , Nablus and Jenin sub-districts;

Haifa district, comprising the Haifa sub-district;

Galilee district, comprising the Nazareth, Beisan, Tiberias , Acre and Safad sub-districts.

11. Gaza and Jaffa sub-districts lie almost entirely in the maritime plain. Ramie and Tulkarm sub-districts are principally on the maritime plain but extend into the foothills of the central range. The habitable areas of the Hebron, Jerusalem, Ramallah and Nablus sub-districts lie on the central range. Hebron and Jerusalem have desert areas extending east to the western shore of the Dead Sea. Nablus sub-district extends east into a practically uninhabited section of the Jordan valley. Haifa sub-district is divided by the Carmel range, and includes part of the plain of Sharon and part of the plain of Esdraelon. Jenin sub-district lies partly on the central range and descends in the north-east to the plains of Esdraelon and of Jezreel. Beisan comprises part of the plain of Jezreel and of the Jordan valley. Acre, Nazareth, Tiberias and Safad sub-districts all include portions of the Galilee hills.

Page 145